Why I say I love you…

Hatred stirs up strife, but love covers all offenses. Proverbs 10:12

Years ago. About 100 years ago it seems – between my hubby and me we said goodbye and buried 8, yes 8 close friends including one patriarchal family member in an 18-month period. 

We were still young. We had so much of life and aspiration in front of us. We never conceived of “the end.”

But then one of mine. Lifetime friend. And one of his – highschool bud – faced the end in their young lives about a month apart. And both of them had a special gift in them. They always said, “I love you” to friends when they parted. And so Sue and Rodney taught us well. The legacy of love. 

For me- when I lost Sue – she was the one who taught me that value. She was a two-time champion – of breast cancer battles. In the end – she was KO’d on round three. But her forever saying was x2. “Taste each day” and always say, “I love you.” She was brave. And. Classy. On so many levels. Because she knew that a fond farewell was worth its weight in gold. 

And for Rodney – my husband’s childhood friend… such a bizarre diagnosis – throat cancer for a young man who never smoked— well he had an amazing strength and personal faith – and he too – before he even got sick – knew the value of the fond farewell. He always ended a visit. A call. A day. A moment. The same way. “Love ya man.” 

Six more losses. Eight times more the broken heart. Oh my – I still feel the lesson. 

And so now our “go to behavior” – always – for family and loved ones is “I love you.” 

Friend. Family. And sometimes a newish acquaintance that seems to have an old friendship in a new bond. You will hear it when we part. When we text. When we email. When we hug. “Love you”. Sometimes it freaks our people out. We. Just. Don’t care. 

Rather default to saying it then leaving that moment in the air of eternity. 

It has never been more important in our lives as now. 

As for this moment in life I have stared the grim reaper down. And won this round. But who knows the outcome of the next? And so we- both and our collective family too – we take more care. We don’t leave the conversation without it. I love you. Hubby. Sun. Friend. Sibling. A foe? 

Whomever. Allow me to embarrass you. With my heart in my hand. Please. 

Learn THIS. Tell them. Now. While you can. Because what we really really need in this divided world is????

Love. Not the “I love that dress. I love French fries. I love that car.. we need LOVE. GRACE.

And a second chance.

As even if someone ticks you off. That’s just passing. Be mindful – everyone is dealing with something. Maybe dragging a broken heart of some sort. A pressure. A break along to the final line. A disappointment. A loss. Oh Lordy… the sanguine soul is an epidemic. 

And in the midst of it – sometime we wonder – am I alone in “this.” E.g. there is no one in my corner? 

And that is why we are called to say it. 

Love is a holy gift- We can take that honest moment… a declaration- rise above ourselves- “Friend. I am in your corner…” 

In the end. We know this. We are called to reflect God in us to others. And..

God is love. So friend. I challenge us all. To put aside pride…awkwardness. Embarrassment…fear of being misconstrued. 

And say it. I LOVE you. No matter what. 

I promise you…you will move a mountain, heal a heart, sooth a psyche and be a light in their life…

Don’t be shy. Don’t feel weird. . In this crazy short life fill the room and their hearts with life. And light. And love. 

Send this message along. Or your own to that person who needs to hear it. 

“I love you friend.” 

And now you know it. And – it’s as simple as that. 💞💞💞

Amen. And Amen.

About setyourpathsstraight

It is my desire to serve God and others through writing; by proclaiming His goodness, provision and character in story form. Though I was not always a follower of Jesus Christ, I have experienced life changes that can only be a result of personally meeting Him. He is not a God of religion, but of relationship. I don't have the answers to life's challenges, but I know where to find them...only in God's Word can any of us stop following crooked paths. The month of my spiritual birthday, I read Proverbs 3:5-6 and claimed it as my life verse... "Trust in the Lord in all you do, lean not on your own understanding In all your ways acknowledge Him.... and He will Set Your Paths Straight." Thank you for your visit today. Please come back again.
This entry was posted in A CLICK A BLESSING TODAY, CHRISTIAN LIFE AND THE WORD, Christian Life and the Word - Lightbearers for Jesus, SHARING STRUGGLES , Shaping Spiritual Solutions!, WONDERFUL WORDS OF LIFE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I say I love you…

  1. Amen. I’m sorry for your losses. This post touched my heart. Love your heart and willingness to share the hard stuff.
    Elizabeth

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.